It's My Life…

It's Knauer Never!

in·flu·ence

/ˈinflo͝oəns/

noun

  1. 1.
    the capacity to have an effect on the character, development, or behavior of someone or something, or the effect itself.
    the influence of positivity
    synonyms: effect, impact;

 

Had a great moment this week at work when I came in a collegue stops me in the galley and tells me that I am influencing her. Now, a lot of people will them me know that they are amazed by my weight loss or that they are inspired to lose weight themselves, but nobody has ever said that I have influenced them.

I asked why and she proceeded to tell me how she joined Weight Watchers and has already lost 13 pounds! I was shocked. Not that she was able to lose the 13 pounds, but that I was was reason she did. That someone, in the back of their mind, was saying, “Hey, Josh is doing this, so I am going to do it too!”

When I started out on this journey, I was completely by myself. I had to make the decision to lose weight by myself, I had to force myself to walk and eat better. It wasn’t until much later when there was visible signs of my losing weight, that I felt a sense of accomplishment. Not only from myself, but from others around me, cheering me on.

It is so great to have people around you not only cheering you on, but also participating in something that is so beneficial. (Now I am starting to sound like the people I used to tune out… But it is true!)

I believe, however, that is is a much different scenario than if someone that is already thin is telling you to lose weight. It doesn’t have the same impact. If someone can eat 47,000 calories a day, not work out and still be thin as a rail, you think, “How can this person know the struggle I deal with on a daily basis? ”

To have someone that is losing weight alongside of you, that is a much better person to share camaraderie with and to know what it takes to get to that level.

I share my coworker’s story with you, not only to show that it is amazing that people are influenced by me, but more so, to tell you how much this single act influenced ME! I am so proud of her, not only taking the first step, but to reach and break goals left and right! It inspires me to also pick up my game as well and not to slow down and keep going.

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

