It's My Life…

It's Knauer Never!

OMG…I Ran!

IMG_2966.JPG

I was minding my own business on the treadmill this morning… I found myself being bored with the speed I was walking (3.0 on my Reebok Crosswalk RT 5.0). I wanted to walk a little faster so I bumped it up to 3.5. I was really straining. It was the fastest walking I could do and it almost hurt.

I decided that I might as well kick the speed up to 4.0 and see if running made it easier. To my shock and amazement, it was easier. At least for a while. The syncopated “thump, thump, thump” of my feet on the treadmill was an exhilarating sound that I have never heard my body make before. The months of walking were starting to pay off and I saw myself well on my way to running in the New York City Marathon!  My breathing started getting heavier and more labored. I felt a burning sensation in my legs and my head started to spin. I quickly lowered the speed back to a safe 2.5 so I could catch my breath.

I was amazed! I looked at the timer and I had been running for a full five minutes! Was it enough to compete with Forrest Gump on his cross country jaunt? Absolutely not. Was the speed fast enough to make the Kessel Run in less than 12 parsecs? Again, sadly, no. But for me, it was another first step (jog) on my weight-loss journey. A hurdle that has been in my way ever since I was young.

In a weight-loss journey, there are so many little goals to be won. Most people just concentrate on the big ones (Losing 10. 20. 50 pounds) that they never see the little wins (tightening the belt one more hole, not getting winded going up one flight of stairs). There are so many of these objectives to be happy with and be cherished and one day the goal of being happy to be healthy.

I’ll write more later, but for now, I gotta run!

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

