It's My Life…

It's Knauer Never!

Okay, So I’m Starting Again…

548328069

As anyone that wants to lose weight can tell you… There are a lot of ups and downs. Many obstacles to avoid and hills of motivation to gain.

I say this as I turn 50 and I have that ever present, “It’s now or never!” voice in my head. I know that it is not going to be easy, as it is never easy the older you get, but the motivation is there.

To be honest, I already started. I didn’t want to post on the first day and then be d0ne after three. In all actuality,  I started about a month ago.

It began with a voice in my head (apparently I have a lot of voices) that told me that I needed to move more. I was sitting on the couch watching Arrow and watching Stephen Amell performing A Salmon Ladder PullUp, realizing that I had to do something!

I promised myself to doing something active f0r 20 minutes a day. Just for 20 minutes. I figured that just getting something accomplished would boost my motivation. I came to realize that in walking for 20 minutes was the equivalent of walking about a mile. So I left the 20 minutes behind and I just promised myself that I would walk a mile a day. Whether it is around the block at home, or in the parking garage at work, I walked. Were there some days that I missed? …of course, but then I would be more motivated the next day.

If you are starting to walk, a great free app to have is the Map My Walk app. It measures your distance by GPS, allows you to play music through it and lets your friends join along!

I also have a Fitbit, which you don’t HAVE to have, but it is great for your daily step totals and challenges for yourself and others. I have a group at work that are very competitive and they inspire me to do more steps!

Just promise yourself 20 minutes a day… The length of a bad tv show that you shouldn’t have watched or the length of 6 songs on shuffle! If you are looking for for some positive music, go to my Spotify…Click here!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Okay, So I’m Starting Again…

  1. Michelle on said:

    This is great Josh! It’s hard to commit to being active after you haven’t for so long. That’s where I am right now. There’s so many stupid excuses I make for myself, but I love how you put it. What’s six songs? You have motivated me with your honesty and I would love to join you. Count me in coach!!!

Leave a Reply

